by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Rally America

Through two Rally America National Championship starts in 2018, O.D.D. Racing’s Cameron Steely and Preston Osborn are now two-for-two at cracking the podium.

Steely and Osborn started their Rally America season by placing third overall and second in the Super Production class two months ago at Rally in the 100 Acre Wood. Last weekend, they did one better in both categories, winning the SP class and placing second overall at the second annual Southern Ohio Forest Rally with a time of 2:07:57.2. Zachary Whitebread/Cameron Carr and Mark Williams/Angela Cosner completed the class podium.

Seven of the 10 SP entries over the weekend finished the rally, although only the top four actually completed all 22 stages. Initially, Steely and Osborn were engaged in a tight battle for the class lead and an overall podium with local favorites Tim Rooney and Anthony Vohs of PMR Motorsports until they had to briefly withdraw after Stage 8 on Friday.

Returning to the event on Saturday after taking a number of penalties for the missed stages, Rooney and Vohs would win four consecutive stages, including the debut of Outdoor Drama North. In the end, they would crack the class top five, but missed the opportunity to increase Rooney’s incoming National Championship lead.

Steely, meanwhile, kicked off the rally at fifth overall on the Ohio Forestry Sawmill stage. He climbed to fourth after Stage 2 and passed Rooney for third overall and the SP stage lead on Stage 6. Sitting comfortably in third and in the class lead on the overnight standings, he would move into second overall after Open class competitor and overall leader Joseph Burke DNFed on Stage 16.

Friday’s stages would claim a number of SP competitors’ hopes for a class podium. Michael Engle and Ryan Scott suffered a rollover on the third stage and would not continue, while Colin Ravenscroft and Jeffrey Reamer would also take DNFs. Patrick Brennan and Matthew James suffered a number of mechanical issues throughout the weekend and went from contending for an overall top five to 45th overall, the last crew scored as finishing the event.

Super Production class finishers in this year’s Southern Ohio Forest Rally were as follows:

  1. Cameron Steely/Preston Osborn, 2:07:57.2 (2nd overall)
  2. Zachary Whitebread/Cameron Carr, 2:14:06.0 (7th overall)
  3. Mark Williams/Angela Cosner, 2:20:32.0 (13th overall)
  4. Nick Balzer/Jon Schrage, 2:25:21.7 (18th overall)
  5. Tim Rooney/Anthony Vohs, 2:39:09.3 (31st overall)
  6. Bradley Ames/Terry Crawford, 2:47:19.1 (39th overall)
  7. Patrick Brennan/Matthew James, 3:29:19.5 (45th overall)