by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Jason Swoboda

Defending event winner Charles Surdyke, 2016 event winners Micah Nickelson and Tyler Ptacek, and three-time 2018 overall rally winners Piotr Fetela and Dominik Jozwiak are among the names attached to a dozen new entries for Show-Me Rally received in the past week. The seventh event in the 2018 Rally America National Championship season now features 33 entries, the most of a single-day event this season.

The 2017 edition of Show-Me Rally attracted 24 names on its entry list. Entries were in the mid-teens in the two previous seasons. This year’s event had already attracted a number of top competitors, including Nemadji Winter Trail Rally winners Nathan Usher and Marianna Langosch, Sno*Drift winners and current overall points leaders Dave and Mike Brown, and current B-spec points leaders Chris Sladek and John Sharps.

Surdyke, who has not yet announced a co-driver, won last year’s nine-stage event alongside Matthew Conte with a total time of 58:06.4. Surdyke raced to 10th overall with a regional Open Light class win at this year’s Rally in the 100 Acre Wood, and another 10th place overall finish at Southern Ohio Forest Rally, both times with Colin Vickman in the co-driver’s seat.

Nickelson/Ptacek have tallied a number of Group 2 victories in Rally America competition over the years, and last posted a national 2WD podium at Sno*Drift in 2017. Although they failed to finish at 100AW earlier this season, many competitors have raved about their speed and see them as a threat to take another class podium.

Fetela/Jozwiak’s performance since introducing the Open class Ford Fiesta FRT Proto has been nothing short of spectacular. Though they didn’t finish in the car’s first two rounds at Lake Superior Performance Rally last October and Sno*Drift in January, they went back-to-back at 100AW and SOFR and added their third win of the season at Sno*Drift Summer Rally in August. Those performances have them only 10 points behind Brown/Brown for the overall lead.

Other recent entries for this year’s Show-Me Rally include Chris Barribeau, who swept both regional rallies at Sno*Drift as an Open Light entry; Justin Mason, who has three Group 2 regional wins this season and will partner with Alexandra Hutchings; and Michael Hooper, who took an overall regional win at Southern Ohio Forest Rally and will introduce new co-driver Brian Katz to his Group 5 Lexus IS350.

The full entry list for Show-Me Rally as it stands can be seen here. For more information on the event, visit the official Show-Me Rally website here.