by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Sno*Drift

The summer months have seen a number of shifts in the 2018 Rally America National Championship chase, as top crews of all classes have dealt with various sources of adversity. Nowhere has that been more apparent than the top of the overall championship, as the top two crews have each dealt with their share of troubles.

Piotr Fetela/Dominik Jozwiak scored their third victory of the season with a win at Summer Sno*Drift, scoring the maximum 12 points for the single-day event. But after a gearbox failure took them out of the running at Rally Colorado after Friday service, they only earned a single point for starting the event.

That spelled good news for Dave and Mike Brown, the overall championship leaders, who finished outside of the overall top 10 in Colorado but still finished every stage to earn eight additional points. Brown/Brown and Fetela/Jozwiak were only separated by two points, 61-59, going into Colorado; after Summer Sno*Drift, their 84-74 advantage is mostly thanks to pressing on in July.

The overall driver and co-driver championships dissent from one another from there, owing to a number of crew changes during the season. On the driver side, Nathan Usher sits third at 51, followed by Tim Rooney at 50 and Cameron Steely and Jimmy Pelizzari tied at 48. On the co-driver side, Preston Osborn has 60 points to rank third, followed by Marianna Langosch with 50 and Jacob Good with 46.

In the Super Production class championship, Rooney’s 70 points lead the class, followed by Zach Whitebread with 60 and Steely and Mark Williams tied with 56. But owing to the numerous crew changes during the year, Osborn’s 56 are tops in the co-driver standings, with Cameron Carr (Whitebread’s most frequent partner) second at 43 and Anthony Vohs (who typically partners with Rooney) tied with Jon Schrage for third at 40.

Things match up a little more closely in the Open Light and 2-Wheel Drive classes. In Open Light, it’s again Brown/Brown who hold the top spot with 103, ahead of Usher/Langosch at 78 and 77, respectively. Mike Erickson/Good top the 2-Wheel Drive standings by a margin of 76-60 over Seamus Burke/Martin Brady.

Finally, in B-spec, Chris Sladek leads Doug Gekiere by 15 points, 94-79, on the driver’s side of the championship, but Gekiere’s partner Matthew Hoffman leads the co-driver points 79-55 over Alex Schum due to a co-driver rotation in Sladek’s car.