TrueCar Racing’s Verena Mei from Littleton, NH and co-driver Leanne Junnila from Calgary, Alberta made Rally America history as the first team to win the inaugural B Spec Championship and the first all-female team to win a Rally America


The team amassed 120 points over five Rally America National Championship events with the chance to add more at the Olympus Rally in Olympia, WA on September 22-23rd. Though their success is partly due to showing up more than their B Spec rivals, the team pushed hard to win all their B Spec events. TrueCar Racing only lost to James Robinson from Delaware, OH and James Guitar from Marysville, OH at February’s Rally in the 100 Acre Wood.

"This title means a lot to me as driver of the TrueCar Racing Women Empowered Initiative, and my TrueCar Racing teammates, because now we're part of Rally America history,” added Mei, “When people look back on who won the inaugural season of the B-Spec Championship, they'll see that it was a women's team, and that will never change. My personal goal is to inspire and empower women that they can accomplish anything."

Mei is in her first full season campaigning a 2011 TrueCar Ford Fiesta as the only national all-female rally team. She comes from a drifting and time attack background before making a huge commitment to rally racing. She began her rally career at the 2011 New England Forest Rally under Team O’Neil Rally School’s guidance to learn the secrets of speed on dirt. (Get to know Verena Mei better:

James Robinson took second place in the B Spec Championship and Jordan Guitar from Marysville, OH picked up the third spot. Both Robinson and Guitar work as Honda Research technicians and campaigned 2009 Honda Fits.

The Rally America B Spec Championship was created in early 2012 to allow professional and grassroots teams a low-cost option to rally race production B segment cars, such as the Ford Fiesta, Honda Fit and fiat 500. The B segment has exploded in America in recent memory, and gained a larger share of new care sales amidst higher fuel prices. (For more information:

Rally America, Inc. is committed to providing the best championships and meeting demands among changing times. The B Spec Championship is expected to grow in popularity as B segment vehicles continue to gain in popularity among car buyers and future racers looking for ways for cost effective means to push the limits.

The 2012 B Spec Championship is proudly supported by TeleBlend, VP Racing Fuels - the Official Fuel of Rally America, ParkNBlend, Subaru of America, Ford Racing, Exedy Racing Clutches, Hawk Performance Brakes, DMack Tyres USA, GrimmSpeed and RECARO seats.

Photo 1: Neil McDaid

Photo 2: Pete Kuncis