by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Jason Swoboda

With more than 50 crews on the entry list for this weekend’s Lake Superior Performance Rally, the Rally America National Championship field boasts one of its strongest entry lists of the season. A number of top teams will return to competition for the first time since the early summer, joining full-time squads that have been chasing a national title in the search for glory at one of America’s most iconic rally events.
The entire top portion of the start order is filled with competitors to keep a close eye on this weekend, so we’ll break it into two segments. Check out the all-wheel drive crews to watch now, and stay tuned for a list of top 2-wheel drive teams later today:

#115 Joseph Burke/Karen Jankowski // 2006 JRD Lancer Evolution (Open)

Burke and Jankowski will be the first crew on the road at Bob Lake on Friday afternoon. Returning to the sport this year for the first time in half a decade, Burke is looking to make up for DNFs at both Rally in the 100 Acre Wood and Southern Ohio Forest Rally despite dominating the first day of both events.

#94 Piotr Fetela/Dominik Jozwiak // 2017 Ford Fiesta FRT Proto (Open)

Scoring their fourth win of the 2018 season at Show-Me Rally helped Fetela and Jozwiak cut down their deficit in the Rally America National Championship to just eight points. If they can take another win at LSPR, and the deep Open class produces multiple podium finishers, they could earn the lead.

#198 Arkadiusz Gruszka/Lukasz Wronski // 2014 Mitsubishi Mirage RS (Open)

The 2017 Rally America National Champions will look to improve on last year’s fifth place finish at LSPR, the event where they locked up their first national title. It’s been a tough year for the Green APU Rally Team with multiple DNFs, but Gruszka and Wronski have the speed to win any event they enter.

#824 Cameron Steely/Preston Osborn // 2007 Subaru STi (Super Production)

After engine troubles knocked them out of their home event in Colorado early, Steely and Osborn will look to return to their podium form from 100AW and SOFR this weekend at LSPR. They’ve got some unfinished business here after taking a DNF as a 2WD entry in 2017.

#194 Dave Brown/Mike Brown // 2000 Subaru Impreza 2.5 RS (Open Light)

The current championship leaders look to keep their eight-point advantage intact with another podium finish at LSPR. Their ability to finish at Rally Colorado while Fetela and Jozwiak fell out represents most of their remaining advantage, but with only one DNF in 2018, they’ve certainly earned their lead.

#3 Nathan Usher/Marianna Langosch // 2002 Subaru WRX Wagon (Super Production)

We didn’t get to see everything that Sneak Attack Rally’s new motor has in it at Show-Me Rally, but expect any issues to be worked out for LSPR. Usher and Langosch remain third in the championship standings, and will look to improve on second in class and fourth overall last October.